Rotary Club of Nagpur - Rotary India

Download the Rotary India Mobile App
AppStore Google Play

About Us


Rotary Club Of Nagpur, like the Rotary International, was conceived in the month of February. It was in February 1944 that on behalf of some enthusiastic persons in Nagpur, Rtn K.K. Mankeshwar sent a telegram to Rotarian Bryant who was the then Chief of the Rotary Organization in the ‘East’ based at Bombay, requesting him to visit Nagpur on his way back from Jabalpur (then Jubbulpore) to start Rotary at Nagpur. Rtn. Bryant could not come but followed up on the ‘telegram’ and informed Mr. Mankeshwar that ‘ it was arranged with the Mr. T.C.S. Jayaratnam ( of the Indian Civil Service – I.C.S)., who was then Chief Secretary to the Madhya Pradesh Government (then C.P. and Berar), to establish a Club along with Rtn Mc. Legnan from Rotary International, after the ‘hot’ season’( read summers). Consequently on July 22 1944, at 7 pm, a preliminary meeting of those interested was held at the Mount Hotel in presence of Rtn Mc. Legnan. Mr. T.C.S. Jayaratnam presided over the meeting. There were 50 gentlemen present. So impressed were they by the account of the ideals and objects of the Rotary International that they immediately resolved to form a Rotary Club. The first meeting of the Rotary Club of Nagpur was thus held on the 26th of August, 1944 with 50 members and the following office bearers: President: T.C.S. Jayaratnam. Vice Presidents : L.H. Bartlett , S.H. Batliwalla. Secretaries : P. Kodanda Rao, R.F. Rustamji. Treasurer : Lala Jainarayan Directors : Dr. T. J Kedar, L.G. D’Silva. – And the premier Rotary Club of Central India was born. The Charter of the Club was presented by Rtn. Sir Sultan Chenoy, Governor of the 92nd District of Rotary on 1st March 1945 at a banquet, presided over by His Excellency Sir Henry Twynam, the Governor of Madhya Pradesh.