round image on layout top

Literacy WinS!!

July 7, 2015 divider image

WinS“Clubs like Rotary with social consciousness can play a very important role in solving problems by encouraging social entrepreneurship” exhorted Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister of Surface Transport, Highways and Shipping. He was the Chief Guest of the function, organised by Rotary Club of Nagpur, joined by 20 other Rotary Clubs titled ‘Literacy Works’. He also spoke on the Governments vision on Clean India and examining economic viability. “We must see to economical viability and convert waste to wealth, that will help create jobs, control pollution and produce gas, like methane, to run our buses,” he reiterated.

Present on the dias apart from Gadkari were President of Rotary Club of Nagpur Khushnoor Chugh, District Governor Dist. 3030 Dr. Nikhil Kibe, Dr. Manoj Desai Director of Rotary International, Dr Prafull Makaddam and Past President Prashant Wasade.

All Rotary Clubs in Nagpur, under the banner of the Presidents Enclave, got together in the process of signing “MoU” with Zilla Parishad for 1585 schools in the region. The scope of work under the MoU includes betterment of educational quality, construction of toilets for students, installation of e-learning module, creating awareness about contemporary educational practices in rural areas, and donning the role of stewardship for all Government schemes to be implemented in schools.

Some of the dignitaries present on the occasion were MP Ajay Sancheti and NIT Chairman Shyam Wardhane. Earlier, President of Rotary Club of Nagpur Khushnoor Chugh welcomed all the guests and invitees. Dr. Nikhil Kibe was introduced by District Secretary Vijay Naidu. Nitin Gadkari was introduced by PDG Vishwas Sashasrabhojnee and Dr Manoj Desai was introduced by PDG Dr Satish Sule. Past President Prashant Wasade spoke on MoU signed by Rotary, efforts in achieving hundred percent literacy results converting them into happy schools and efforts on ‘Swachh Bharat Abhiyan.’ PP Shabbir Shakir, PP Tauby Bhagwagar, PP Sanjiv Chugh, PP vijay Naidu, Amitabh and Rina Sinha, Behram Patel, Nimish Sutaria, Sonia Khurana, Nilufer Rana, Jumana Shakir, Parag Paranjape and Prashant Rajurkar worked hard for the success of the event.Past President Prashant Wasade proposed the vote of thanks.


bottom round image

Go to Top

footertop right
© Rotary Club of Nagpur